Theodore Dalrymple can get you off guard–and make you wonder

I won’t tell you what I think about this essay–just that I decided people should read it and I am still figuring it out–Dalrymple always makes me think hard.

http://www.newenglishreview.org/Theodore_Dalrymple/Hazards_of_Hazlitt/

4 responses to “Theodore Dalrymple can get you off guard–and make you wonder

  1. You’ll be encouraged to read, when your normal 1000wpm typing produces a typo, JDD:
    ‘There is more rejoicing in the heart of a pedant over one mistake than over ninety-nine facts he didn’t know….’

  2. Heck, he’s writing about William Hazlitt, not Henry.

    Given that I was induced to read in the bozarts only at the academic equivalent of gunpoint, there’s a great big Litella “Never mind!” there.

  3. I saw that Dalrymple riff on pedants too, Roger, and I try to remember to use the spell checker, but sometimes forget. i sometimes forget my cell phone and . . . because I am usually thinking about something and distracted.

    I always recall the Sam Johnson barb when he was asked about a newly prominent literary figure– to paraphrase–“I can’t think much of someone who writes more than he reads.”

  4. TD claims: I delight to come across an error which I can recognise. There is more rejoicing in the heart of a pedant over one mistake than over ninety-nine facts he didn’t know.’
    For two months this shamed me into being just a curmudgeon, but I just noticed, relating to an article in a ‘NewScientist’ journal, a photo of a 747 adorned with messages of condolence re flight MH370.
    Now, however many new facts were claimed in this journal, one utterly inexcusable blunder, especially on such a sensitive matter, throws doubt on the veracity of all the ‘new facts’ published in the magazine…..
    To summarise, a list of facts including the claim that the moon consists mainly of green cheese would be trashed immediately by everyone, pedants and ‘normal’ people alike….when confronted with new revelations one can only assess their credibility on the basis of finding no obvious non-sequiturs or outright piffle………

Leave a Reply

