Dementia and Death–an essay on recent medical advances

If there was anything really good I would tell you–Drs. Miller and Ross don’t have any big breakthroughs to announce.

Dementia of any kind is debilitating and a great burden on patient and family.

Wish it were otherwise–but so far there is no medical magic.

I hope to be smart until I die, but my father and mother and some aunts were not–sooo?

http://www.forbes.com/sites/henrymiller/2015/06/22/steady-progress-on-americas-most-terrifying-epidemic-alzheimers-disease/

I would say that dementia teaches the relatives, sons and daughters perspective and humility about our time here on earth.

3 responses to “Dementia and Death–an essay on recent medical advances

  1. “I would say that dementia teaches the relatives, sons and daughters perspective and humility about our time here on earth.”

    Truer words and all that.

    Beyond that, caring for a relative with real-live, genuine Alzheimer’s ought to earn one a free pass into Heaven no matter what other sins may have been committed. It’s a real bitch.

  2. I have given a close relative specific instructions on what to do should I ever reach the point where I no longer recognize my children. They involve ensuring I go peacefully to my reward, and make sure that those taking care that it happens cannot be charged with a crime. To me that is the last gift you can give your family, should it become necessary.

Leave a Reply

